What our Guests are Saying

Don C. Avatar
This is where to go to have that alone time with the one you love. This lodge was recommended to us by a friend. We checked it out in April 2023. We loved the room and the quiet atmosphere. There were other people staying there but you would never know it. It's so quiet and relaxing. We booked another stay in November 2023 because we loved it there. We tried the wilderness suite in April and the canyon room in November. Both rooms were beautiful and very cozy. We've stayed in hotels and you only get 2 towels. This lodge supplies you with plenty of towels for your stay. The rooms are very clean and there's no in person interaction with anyone from the lodge. It is all on a trust policy. The gift shop has many choices of souvenirs. We cannot recommend this lodge enough. It's so quiet and a great place to connect with the one you love. It's adults only. You won't regret it.
Don C. 11/17/2023
Angela G. Avatar
Couldn’t have asked for better accommodations for our stay. Every detail was taken care of. Our room was impeccably clean and the decor had a cozy rustic feel.
Angela G. 11/12/2023
Dawn S. Avatar
Beware the steep driveway & steps after a long bike ride. Overall, good location to access PCRT (careful crossing Rt6). Very nice room and snacks. Bring cash for souvenir shop.
Dawn S. 10/29/2023
More than satisfied with my choice!~ This has got to be one of the best-kept secrets of central PA (and I'm not mad about that). My experience going to Bear Meadows Lodge was above and beyond my expectation. The location itself is quiet and charming. But the room, amenities, and view really took the entire experience to the next level. I cannot overstate the level of joy and restoration experienced during my overnight stay with my girlfriend in the Headwaters Room (Number 6). Truly an unforgettable vacation for us after a long time apart and I am so grateful for the level of care and trust given to me as a guest here.

A few notes of interest:
1. You will likely not see anyone from management, though they will respond if you call and leave a voicemail. At first, this might seem odd if you're expecting something similar to a hotel experience, but Bear Meadow Lodge is not that at all. The room, deck, and space are yours to enjoy, carefully set up for the guest. They have everything you need and operate on trust. For example, your room key is on your door in an envelope with the guest's name on it. Also, the gift shop has an honor system with a fill-out card; we bought hats without interacting with a person! This is very much a private and personal experience, which is just what we needed!
2. It is very close to the town of Wellsboro, which I highly recommend you enjoy if you somehow miss it on your way in. There are quite a few mom-and-pop shops and some great eats you don't want to miss (The Steak House, Wellsboro Diner).
3. Be sure to enjoy the nature around you. We saw so many birds and thoroughly enjoyed the morning fog and nighttime stars. Take it in, breathe deep, and reset. You won't regret staying here.
Brandon Fillette 7/20/2023
Wonderful Stay Jim and Amanda were extremely gracious and helpful after a scheduling snafu that was entirely my fault, and we had a great stay in a lovely room. I would highly recommend.
Larry Cottrill 6/16/2023
Mark H. Avatar
Stayed here while biking the Pine Creek Rail Trail. Great place to stay. Very clean rooms, great atmosphere and attention to detail. Would definitely stay here again.
Mark H. 6/15/2023
Edward C. Avatar
First don't try to find it in the dark, no sign telling you are here ,other than that it was a fantastic stay very quiet nature is all around you ,it has fully functional kitchen it has four bedrooms each room has has mini fridge, a large great room, one room has a hot tub which we stayed in the other guests were friendly, some much to do so little time, it is a great place to reset mind ,body,spirit and help renew your relationship and to be with nature, and thank you to the staff who are friendly and knowledgeable about the area we will be back 😀
Edward C. 5/30/2023
Margaret P. Avatar
What a charming place to stay! Clean and beautiful. Location is close to everything. Owners very easy to reach if needed. Will return.
Margaret P. 5/25/2023
Milestone birthday celebrated in style Delightful late winter get away to romantically celebrate a milestone birthday! We stayed in the wilderness suite with the beautiful and comfortable ironwork bed, fireplace and whirlpool tub. The stage was set on arrival with warm lights on, music playing, and a pretty chalkboard welcoming a personal greeting. Soft big towels were great! In the morning the breakfast items and coffee leisurely got us on our way. Wellsboro was fun to visit and we got chocolate, wine, and a new pair of hiking boots before hitting a trail with a grand vista view of pine creek. We want to come back and bike ride the rails to trail and relax afterwards in a Bear Lodge jaccuzi this spring! Everything was private this time...next time we want to check out the shared areas upstairs. Oh, and we are tickled with a jute bag souvenir!
Alicia 3/17/2023
Nancy Avatar
Bear Mountain Lodge is a quaint bed and breakfast, I say breakfast because you receive muffins and pastry. Granola, breakfast bars, fruit and all sorts of Keurig coffee and teas. Full use of the kitchen and a gorgeous living room to relax in with cards , games and books. There's even a piano to play if so inclined and bikes to ride in the summer.. We had a hot tub rom. Peaceful and restful. Burning Barrel 6 minutes down the road is also a great place for fresh burgers and beer. Great get away.
Nancy 2/20/2023
Cozy, beautiful lodging We stayed over the New Year's holiday. The lodge is beautiful with several nice additions to make the stay a bit more enjoyable. The room was clean. The general area was inviting and comfortable. We enjoyed the hot tub. It is a great location for a relaxing break
Michael 1/03/2023
UNBELIEVABLE My husband and I have stayed several times over the past 2 years and every time is perfect. The room is always amazing, no matter which room it is (we have stayed in 3 different ones), the view from the deck is the icing on top for us. Jim and staff make us feel like we are the only guests they have and we are treated so special when we are there. And the minute we leave we are planning on our next visit and counting the days until we can return to our little slice of heaven.
Trudi Huffman 11/23/2022
bear lodge what a beautiful location for two elderly retired folks . we were totally pleased with the accommodations. we were looking forward to enjoying and sharing a bottle of wine while relaxing in hot tub on our private deck. we had suite #9 .however mother nature supplied us with a steady wind of around 10 to 15 mi per hour. our curtains surrounding our hot tub were constantly blowing into the water.(mountain breeze suite was appropriately named). we made the best of it under the circumstances. we visited the east rim of canyon earlier in the day being treated to a beautiful view of the fall foliage. also enjoying an eagle soaring back and forth. looking forward to returning to your beautiful lodge. thank you for extending veterans discount.
jeff and lynn 10/18/2022
Great place to relax Great place to stay just to relax, ride the trail, or visit Wellsboro. The decor is nicely done; Bear Mountain is obvious everywhere. We even ready a review in the guest book that just a few weeks ago, a bear was here to welcome the guests. We were celebrating a birthday and riding the Pine Creek trail. We stayed in the Canyon room and were welcomed with a personal note on the mantel. Everything was ready for our stay when we arrived. Just walk in and make yourself at home. The room was supplied with muffins, fresh fruit, breakfast bars, juice, water and coffee. Fresh fruit and trail mix and granola to go also available in the kitchen, which I took advantage of. There’s a large front deck for sunny afternoons inside or out, and our room had a small deck facing the back woods. The little hot tub was really appreciated after a long ride on the trail - 62 miles for 60+ birthday 😉 . The bedroom and bath were clean and comfy, with towels for shower and hot tub. Our time was quiet and relaxing. It’s an easy trip over to Wellsboro. We went over to walk around and eat dinner. Highly recommend Beck’s Bistro ($$$). Food was excellently prepared. I may need to make this a yearly birthday trip.
Gerry 8/14/2022
Another stay with Bear Lodges Another absolutely wonderful time!!! My husband and I decided we needed to get away for awhile and wanted to visit the PA Grand Canyon. It is only a little over 2 hours away for us so we figured it would be a great place to visit again. This time we decided to try Bear Meadows and once again we were not disappointed. Just like Bear Mountain Lodge, Bear Meadows is a very wonderful place. Beautiful lodge with grand lodging. They make you feel like royalty!! Gorgeous view from our private patio, relaxing hot tub for our early evening leisure time, comfortable king size "sleigh bed"(had to use the step stool to get onto bed, LOL), delicious snacks/fruit/water etc and peace and quiet. It is WONDERFUL!!!! We recommend Bear Lodges to all our friends and family and look forward to visiting again in the near future. A big THANK YOU to Jim, Amanda and Sherri!!!!!!
Tony and Melody Bowser 7/18/2022
Jeff B. Avatar
We love it here!
Jeff B. 7/14/2022
Recent Visit We just spent the past weekend at this establishment!!! WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Is was a fantastic experience!!!!!!!!!!!! The accomodations were incredible. A place to visit to forget there is even an outside world. Would highly recommend this place, far enough away from Wellsboro, but close enough to visit Wellsboro. Thanks to all who run this place.
Glenn and Nancy Troester 7/04/2022
Cindy B. Avatar
I can’t say enough nice things about our stay at Bear Mountain Lodge! We booked the Canyon Room which featured a hot tub on a private deck- after a long day on the bike trail, it was a perfect way to end the day. All the special amenities were appreciated!
Cindy B. 5/30/2022
Great place to stay. The wife and I needed a place to get away from the daily grind. This place was the perfect place. We only had plans on visiting the Pine Gorge which is 15 mins away. Talking with the locals we played everything by ear for the next couple days. (Penns Cavern, Corning Museum of Glass, Elk country) We always had a place to back and relax and chill on the porch in the Whitetail room.
Ronald and Jessica 5/16/2022
Brian F. Avatar
Wonderful staff and were able to take a last minute booking with ease. Very nice room. Feels like home.
Brian F. 5/08/2022
A wonderful getaway! This was our 1st time staying at Bear Meadow Lodge and we will definitely be returning! We stayed in the Headwaters Room which was beautiful and the view was amazing! We enjoyed watching the deer from our deck! Thank you again for a wonderful getaway!
Jimmy and January 2/25/2022
John N. Avatar
Cozy log rooms with rugged wooden furniture. Breakfast of muffins, juice, fruit and yogurt placed in your refrigerator each day for the next morning. Keurig coffee.
John N. 2/20/2022
WB S. Avatar
Wonderful!!
WB S. 1/14/2022
Great get away! We stayed overnight in the Bear Room #2. The room was small (which we knew) but it was cozy and private. The hot tub on the deck was secluded and overlooked the woods. Everything you needed was in the room. The extra towels for the hot tub, robes, snacks, mini fridge (filled) were all an added touch to make your stay even more enjoyable! The owners thought of everything! I loved the fact that there was a bike barn to keep your bikes if you wanted to bike the trail. I would recommend this to anyone who would just like to get away or spend the weekend hiking or biking. We also used our Wellsboro bucks and enjoyed breakfast the next day at the Wellsboro Diner.
Karen Haile 11/06/2021
Believe the Hype! Even with all of the wonderful reviews of Bear Meadows Lodge, I was like, "There's no way it's going to be as amazing as everyone says." Well, it is. The Hideaway room was beautiful and so comfortable, the view of the meadow and mountains from the private back deck was spectacular, and the jacuzzi was a great way to relax after long days of hiking and exploring. The WiFi wasn't the best, but we were looking to disconnect from the hustle and bustle of every day life so that wasn't a big deal for us. The stocked fridge and snack basket offered plenty of selection (oh my gosh, **the muffins**), and the Wellsboro dollars could be used at lots of locations in town. We're already talking about going back early next year =)
Christina and Jason 10/07/2021
Leslie D. Avatar
We are return visitors, as many other people, to this relaxing, wonderful gem of a place. What keeps us coming back is the owner's commitment to giving us a warm welcome in a rustic, yet upscale atmosphere.
Leslie D. 9/28/2021
Absolute Relaxation First time staying with Bear Lodges, but certainly won't be our last. We stayed in The Wilds room, and everything about it exuded relaxation - from the amazingly comfortable bed to the beautiful fireplace to the private balcony and hot tub. It was the perfect place to come back to after long days of hiking and exploring the PA Grand Canyon. The muffins in the breakfast basket were delicious, and we appreciated having a nice selection of other (healthier) snacks and drinks, too.
Jason and Christina 9/10/2021
Mark C. Avatar
A wonderful place situated in a beautiful area to enjoy the outdoors.
Mark C. 8/30/2021
Loved Bear Mountain Lodge ❤️🐻 We did a mini getaway for our Anniversary- to relax and take in the sights of the area. The lodge is beautifully decorated, very clean, comfortable and loved all of the cute touches to welcome us. We stayed in the bear room - the bed was very comfy, loved the robes and towels for our private hot tub on our deck plus the delicious baked goods, drinks, snacks and personal touches. I was so blown away by the lodge and we will return .
Mary 8/27/2021
Perfect Anniversary Getaway We stayed in the Canyon room at the Bear Mountain Lodge for 1 night. The attention to detail was amazing....all the way down to the full water reservoir on the Keurig and the snacks and drinks in the room. The personal hottub was a God send to soak our troubles away for a little bit. The only downside for us was the hard mattress. I know everyone likes something different but for us it was a little too hard for a solid night of sleep. We've already booked a Valentines Day trip at the Bear Meadow Lodge! Can't wait to go!
Laura and Tony 8/27/2021
Abbie K. Avatar
1000000% would recommend Bear Mountain Lodges! Clean, quiet, peaceful location… just a short drive to activities and restaurants. Home like feeling! The team goes above and beyond to make your stay extra special!
Abbie K. 8/16/2021
Jody L. Avatar
Definitely worth checking out! We had a wonderful stay here!
Jody L. 8/02/2021
131 Main Street We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at 131 Main Street. This B and B is beautiful. It was very quiet. We appreciated each detail, to the lovely decor, the comfortable room, and the wonderful amenities in the both the bedroom and the private bathroom. Although there was no contact with the innkeeper or host, (because of COVID) our comfort was clearly their goal. There was plenty of food and drinks in our room, which we were free to take with us. The town of Wellsboro is lovely. It was a nice walk to restaurants and shopping. We were a 20 minute drive to hiking spots, and also very close to a beautiful golf course. We hope to return to enjoy the fall foliage.
Cathy Skahill 7/24/2021
Perfect getaway! My husband and I have been coming here for years. It is the most lovely relaxing environment. I call it my home away from home. The accommodations are amazing, always clean and well stocked with goodies!
Cheryl Keister 7/06/2021
So wonderful and peaceful!
Hotels.com r. 6/11/2021
Bear Meadow Lodge Rm 9 My fiance and I were looking to get away and remove ourselves from the same old things back home with the covid restrictions. She found this lodge and was amazed by all the positive reviews. She called to see if there were any open rooms and she spoke with Amanda. From there, things just got better. Amanda answered all of Theresa's questions and couldn't have been more helpful. We booked room nine which had two bathrooms and a deck with a hot tub. When we got there they had candles going and music playing, They also had a refrigerator with drinks in it, and on a table, there were muffins, fruit, and power bars. The place was spotless and came with nice comfortable robes which we used after sitting in the hot tub. We can't say enough about the place or about Jim and Amanda. Will definitely stay here again next time we are in the area.
Thomas Bardzell 5/21/2021
Sarah E. Avatar
Our stay this past weekend was absolutely perfect. My boyfriend and I stayed in the Canyon room and there were so many thoughtful touches throughout- a private deck with a hot tub, a mini-fridge and breakfast basket stocked with snacks and juices daily, a cozy bed beside a warm electric fireplace, matching bathrobes, and our very own Keurig to give us a jump start before a day of fishing and hiking. We even received a cute tote bag to take home, filled with informational brochures and Commerce cash to spend in town or at the gift shop!You can tell how much thought is put into making their guest's stay as comfortable as possible. I cannot recommend this place enough! Come to Wellsboro for the Pennsylvania Grand Canyon and leave in awe... but be sure to stay at Bear Mountain Lodge and leave absolutely refreshed.
Sarah E. 4/12/2021
T S. Avatar
Bear Lodges was absolutely outstanding. My husband and I have never stayed at a B&B but for being our first time it was extremely delightful. From the start of arriving at the beautiful lodge already had us excited to say the least. We are from a decent sized city so to come to the beautiful quiet country was the best way to escape our busy lives. When we entered our room, we were ecstatic. We booked the headwaters room. The bathroom was exceptionally big and cozy. The fireplace made it even more cozy. Even with COVID they still accommodated with breakfast. They even offered to accommodate for brunch but we declined due to our planned adventures. To top off all these amazing arrangements, the deck and hot tub were the icing on the cake. The view was absolutely INCREDIBLE! You will be blown away. Something that stood out to me was how easy it was to check in. No face to face but easy to contact our host who was by far extremely helpful! By the way you are literally minutes from downtown wellsboro. So go stay there you will be blown away! Thank you bear lodges for the absolutely best stay ever!!
T S. 4/12/2021
Sarah E. Avatar
Our stay this past weekend was absolutely perfect. My boyfriend and I stayed in the Canyon room and there were so many thoughtful touches throughout- a private deck with a hot tub, a mini-fridge and breakfast basket stocked with snacks and juices daily, a cozy bed beside a warm electric fireplace, matching bathrobes, and our very own Keurig to give us a jump start before a day of fishing and hiking. We even received a cute tote bag to take home, filled with informational brochures and Commerce cash to spend in town or at the gift shop!You can tell how much thought is put into making their guest's stay as comfortable as possible. I cannot recommend this place enough! Come to Wellsboro for the Pennsylvania Grand Canyon and leave in awe... but be sure to stay at Bear Mountain Lodge and leave absolutely refreshed.
Sarah E. 4/08/2021
Wonderful Weekend The Whitetail Room at Bear Mountain Lodge was absolutely stunning. Guests are spoiled with a personalized bag full of goodies and a room with a personal welcome, stocked with drinks and snacks along with access to a full kitchen in the shared space. Being the beginning of April it was chilly so outside activities took a back seat. Can't wait to stay again soon.
Kim 4/05/2021
lpm827 Avatar
So gorgeous! We're here for my boyfriend's birthday and it's amazing. Very clean and comfortable, definitely recommend.
lpm827 3/15/2021
Ricky B. Avatar
Awesome.
Ricky B. 2/10/2021
Brad H. Avatar
I brought my girlfriend here for her birthday and to get away and relax for the weekend. We stayed in the "Wilderness Suite". I would like to say that there isn't anything they didn't have taken care of for you. The room was very clean, extremely pleasant, and full of little bits of attention to many details! I was and am very satisfied with my decision to stay there! In fact, we are anxious to come back and stay again.
Brad H. 2/09/2021
It was a beautiful getaway! Awesome amenities from the fireplace in the room to the hot tub on the back covered porch. I will definitely be returning for another visit!
Expedia r. 1/15/2021
It was a beautiful getaway! Awesome amenities from the fireplace in the room to the hot tub on the back covered porch. I will definitely be returning for another visit!
Expedia r. 1/12/2021
Perfection I have stayed at bear meadows twice. It's beautiful, cozy, and clean. The special touches in the room show how much they care for their guests. I will always come back to Bear when visiting. The town is quaint, hallmark-movie perfection. I just love it here!
Leanna Mummert 12/15/2020
Jordan S. Avatar
Such a beautiful and homey place to stay! We loved every minute we spent there!❤
Jordan S. 11/17/2020
Nicole M. Avatar
If you are looking for a true weekend getaway, this is it. We stayed in the Headwaters Room, which was welcoming, clean, safe, and had a breathtaking view. The bed was just right, and there were so many thoughtful details from the stocked refrigerator, to warm robes, it is like coming to the comfort of home. I loved the private hot tub - deep relaxation made it easy to forget about work and daily responsibilities. A true escape from it all. Be ready to turn off cell phone notifications and find peace. The gorgeous mountain fields, trees, and wildlife give a magical atmosphere you will just want to soak in and relax.
Nicole M. 11/09/2020
Tom B. Avatar
My wife Kim and I had an awesome relaxing getaway at Bear Mountain Lodge. We stayed in the Whitetail Room and which was extremely clean and well- kept. The lodge has everything you could ask for in amenities and more, even a small gift shop. We cannot say enough great things about the place. We would recommend to anyone and are looking forward to a future stay.Jim and his staff has thought of everything!
Tom B. 11/09/2020
Excellent stay in the Bear Room! This place is so nice. The view from our room was beautiful. The room was perfect it had a gas fireplace and a bathroom. The room was small but very cozy. It also had a private deck with a hot tub and private outside curtains. It rained when we were there so it would had been even more perfect if the deck had some type of an awning or larger umbrella. Then you could sit out there when it rains. Thankfully the rain stopped so we could use the hot tub! Highly recommend this lodge!!
Ann Broderick 10/26/2020